Ending on a high….

Save e-cigs is going to shut down. We have done our job, we were there at the start of this, in Brussels fighting to get the TPD changed from medical regulations, and we have been there in Wales, fighting to stop the proposed vape ban.

And we think we did OK. We helped to change the course of the TPD, and last night the Welsh Health Bill was defeated. Probably not how we would have wanted it to be defeated, but it was defeated nonetheless, and we know that we played a small role in that.

So we leave a tiny legacy of success in our wake, as we pack up and move to pasture new. Vaping is in safe hands, the NNA are now in full force and moving and shaking behind the scenes and extending their reach globally, and VIP are turning into a force to be reckoned with. Their enthusiasm and energy is very welcomed to those of us that have been in this for quite a few years now.

So this post is really a very big thank you to everyone that has helped us, supported us in anyway, and been there to keep the vapers voice heard.

It was an interesting ride guys, but now to new things, and what a wonderful time to say goodbye, with the sweet smell of victory in Wales, where vaping will not be banned.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Ending on a high….

  1. I hope that the pastures new will appreciate your experience, commitment and enthusiasm.
    Tis a sad day to see advocacy say they are leaving *-(

  2. Sad to see this statement, but understand totally because of what I know of ‘behind the scenes’.

    I actually owe the Save eCigs campaign a great deal (as do many Welsh Vapers). It was through Save eCigs that I first became involved in advocacy. It’s hard to believe that it is two years ago that I was first contacted by Save eCigs when they asked me to front the Petition to the Welsh Government to Save eCigs, on their behalf. Since then, because of Save eCigs, my involvement in advocacy has just got deeper and deeper.

    It was the Save eCigs campaign that first put me directly in front of the AMs in the Welsh Assembly as we tried to help them understand that eCigs were nothing to be afraid of, but something to embrace. It was Save eCigs perseverance that got me in front of some of the most ardent enemies of eCigs, and it was through Save eCigs that I learnt how to deal with such people.

    Indeed, if it was not for Save eCigs, I doubt I would ever have been asked to get involved with the NNA – of which I am now an integral part. Last year I had the opportunity to address advocates from across the world at GFN2015 on how to engage with politicians.

    What to do, what not to do, what to wear, how to conduct myself etc.

    These are things I learned as a result of being involved with Save eCigs. I acknowledged their contribution in my address to GFN2015, and I readily acknowledge their contribution today, especially the massive victory we achieved in the Welsh Assembly last night which would NOT have happened without their help. They are the reason why so many AMs both understand and support eCigs. Save eCigs letter writing campaign has been relentless and made a huge contribution. The meetings with AMs that Save eCigs arranged paved the way for the support we received last night, and ultimately paved the way to our victory last night.

    I’ve met the individual members of Save eCigs on several occasions, and I hope our paths cros again in the future.

    Vapers everywhere, but especially in Wales, owe Save eCigs a great deal of thanks and admiration.

    The very best of luck in whatever you decide to do in the fture. But don’t be strangers either. You know where I am and you know where to find me. Please ensure you come and say Hello when our paths cross again (as they will).

    All the very best,
    Simon Thurlow
    NNA Board Member

Leave a Reply

